Healthy Foods For Healthy Skin

I’m a firm believer that a diet can influence your skin. While I may not take my own advice (brownies count as dinner, right?) I do think that it’s a great point to address. Why cover up your skin when you can just change your eating habit!

  1. Hydrate. I can tell the difference from when I’m well hydrated to severely hydrated. Heck, I claim that I was dehydrated throughout my college year, but that’s another story. When I’m not hydrating, my lips get chapped, my hands get dry, and my skin starts producing oil like crazy.
  2. Tomatoes while delicious can also help reduce sunburn! So while you’re at the beach, add a little tomato to your lunch time snack.
  3. Protein, even as little as sardines can help with inflammation which can lead to acne. If that’s the case, I’ll take as much sushi as possible.
  4. Walnuts can help with eczema and are crucial for vegetarians who opt out of eating fish.
  5. Almond milk, instead of whole milk can lead to reduced inflammation. High inflammation caused my dairy based milk can lead to wrinkles, rashes, and acne

 

The MayoClinic was also super awesome in making a list of skin-friendly foods:

  • Carrots
  • Apricots
  • Yellow and orange fruits and veggies
  • Spinach and kale
  • Tomatoes
  • Blueberies
  • Beans, peas, and lentils
  • Salmon and other fatty fish
  • Nuts

Blog Post Signature

Note: All thoughts, opinions, and photos are our own!

Leave a Reply

